VWP countries

ESTA allows citizens of VWP countries travel to the USA under simplified conditions

What are the ESTA waiver countries?

As for now, there are 38 ESTA Waiver countries, which participate in the Program. To enter the territory of the United States or transit through it, the citizens of VWP countries require nothing but a confirmed ESTA Travel Authorization. All other travelers with a passport from any other country must obtain a B-1 or B-2 Visitor Visa in advance. Please keep in mind that a travel authorization (ESTA) must be applied for online in advance.

Here is the US Visa Waiver Program countries list:

Visa Waiver Program countries list

  Andorra Australia Austria
  Belgium Brunei Chile
  Czech Republic Denmark Estonia
  Finland France Germany
  Greece Hungary Iceland
  Ireland Italy Japan
  Latvia Liechtenstein Lithuania
  Luxembourg Malta Monaco
  Netherlands New Zealand Norway
  Portugal San Marino Singapore
  Slovakia Slovenia South Korea
  Spain Sweden Switzerland
  Taiwan United Kingdom  

Short about the ESTA program countries list

In relation to all mentions of country/-ies in this document, it is worthy of note that under the provisions of the Taiwan Relations Act of 1979, Pub. L. No. 96-8, Section 4(b)(1), whenever the US laws speak of foreign states, nations, federations, administrations, or similar entities, such terms shall comprise and such laws will be equally applicable to Taiwan (22 U.S.C. § 3303(b)(1)). Accordingly, all similar mentions in the ESTA waiver countries implementing legislation, Section 217 of the Immigration and Nationality Act, 8 U.S.C. 1187, are attributed to Taiwan as ESTA Waiver Visa Program country.

The United Kingdom is also one of the VWP countries, but to be authorized to enter the United States under the VWP, the citizens of England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland must possess the unrestricted right to live in the United Kingdom.

Exceptions to US Visa Waiver Program countries list

The residents or nationals of Iraq, Iran, Syria, or Sudan are currently forbidden to travel to the United States. Moreover, the citizens of ESTA program countries that are the nationals of these states are also prohibited from entering the territory of the US.

In addition, the citizens of the VWP countries who have traveled to or stayed in Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, or Yemen on March 1, 2011, or after this day are forbidden to cross the US border.  The only exceptions make travelers who visited these states for diplomatic or military purposes.

Have you enjoyed our assistance? Please, click here. Your vote is:
Rating of service
Aggregate Rating
5 based on 3 votes